Sexual Harassment Prevention Training for General Employees

Effective January 1, 2019, employers in California with 5 or more employees (or independent contractors) must provide sexual harassment training to all employees (SB 1343). 

The deadline for compliance with initial training is January 1, 2020. Under the new law, covered employers must:

• Provide nonsupervisory employees with 1 hour of training every 2 years

• Provide supervisory employees with 2 hours of training every 2 years and

This training meets the 1 hour training requirement for nonsupervisory employees.

In this training, we will meet all of the following state requirements:

  • Review the elements of sexual harassment and the remedies available to victims of sexual harassment under both California and federal laws.

  • Discuss other forms of unlawful harassment.

  • Consider strategies for preventing and responding to unlawful harassment.

  • Address concerns regarding abusive conduct in the workplace.

Your Instructor

Christine Petrocelli, Co-Founder of Progressive Benefit Group

Christine Petrocelli, is the founder of the PBG Training Academy and co-founder & COO of Progressive Benefit Group, headquartered in California. Christine has been consulting with employer groups locally and nationally on Federal and State compliance topics such as Sexual Harassment, EEOC, ADA, FMLA, FLSA, ERISA & ACA since 2001. As the head trainer of the academy she delivers SB 1343, AB 1825 & AB 2053 supervisor trainings monthly. Custom management development trainings are performed as needed by the clients she serves. Christine’s passion for training and nearly 20 years of experience on stage delivers audience members an impactful training and a cost-effective solution for employers to stay compliant.
Your Instructor

Helpful Information for Employers

and FAQ

S.B. 1343 requires that all employers of 5 or more employees provide 1 hour of sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training to non-managerial employees and 2 hours of sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training to managerial employees once every two years. 

Existing law requires the trainings to include harassment based on gender identity, gender expression, and sexual orientation and to include practical examples of such harassment and to be provided by trainers or educators with knowledge and expertise in those areas.

There is no requirement that the 5 employees or contractors work at the same location or that all work or reside in California. Under the DFEH’s regulations, the definition of “employee” includes full-time, part-time, and temporary employees. 

By what date must employees be trained? 

Both managerial and non-managerial employees must receive training by January 1, 2020. After January 1, 2020, employees must be retrained once every two years.

What if my employees were trained between January 1 and December 31, 2018? 

The law requires that employees be trained during calendar year 2019. Employees who were trained in 2018 or before will need to be re-trained.

Other questions? We're happy to help.

Please contact us at info@progressivebenefit.com